top of page

Social Justice Initiatives

Southeastern North Carolina is plagued with challenges relative to race relations, socioeconomics, social injustices, and absence of fair ethnic inclusion.  The Mt. Calvary Center’s Social Justice Initiatives are designed to create a platform for a diversified panel of community leaders of various ethnicities.  The initiative actively engages in candid, yet healthy dialogue centered on rooted behaviors and systematic oppression that presents both immediate and residual negative effects on minorities including ethnicity, gender, low-income, LGBTQ, and other groups.  Such dialogues will derive specific outcomes to enhance cohesiveness and engagement.

The initiative will address fairness in civic engagement, economic development, wages and rehabilitative opportunities.  The inclusion of diversity will enhance the attentiveness of stockholders to improve the organizations and communities which they represent. Additionally, the diverse members will address racially charged injustices that have burst the seams of ethnic cohesiveness.  The panel will consist of representatives of various communities throughout the southeastern region of North Carolina; Pender, Duplin, New Hanover, Sampson, Bladen and Columbus Counties.

Mt. Calvary’s Social Justice Initiatives addresses racial tension that has heightened in recent years.  The initiative works to develop strategies to address such immediate and ominous concerns of many communities.  Developed courses of action for implementation are shared with governing municipalities, law enforcement agencies, educational entities, business and industry, and private organizations alike to improve relations and presence.

The Mt. Calvary Center for Leadership Development is responding to the urgent needs of the communities by bringing diverse groups together, understanding differences, celebrating commonalities, and uniting as Americans.

Duplin County


Mr. Davis Brinson

County Manager, Duplin County


Mr. Alex Flores

President, Flores Trucking and Demolition

Mr. Steve Evans

Director of Community Development, Smithfield Foods

Teyaka Pickett

Branch Manager, United Community Bank

Honorable Jesse Dowe

Chairman, Duplin County Commissioners


Dr. Austin Obasohan

Superintendent, Duplin County Schools

Mr. Devon Hall

Executive Director, R. E. A. C. H. Organization


Mr. Robert Moore

Branch President, Duplin County NAACP

Chief James Crayton

Wallace Police Department


Mr. Ervin Murray

Branch Manager, BB&T Rose Hill

Dr. Philip Gladden

Pastor, Wallace Presbyterian Church

New Hanover County


Ms. Deborah Dicks Maxwell

President, New Hanover County NAACP


Honorable Jonathan Barfield

Member, New Hanover County Board of Commissioners


Major B.D. Blackmon

New Hanover County Sheriff's Office

Linda Thompson

Chief Diversity and Equity Officer, New Hanover County Office of Diversity and Equity


Dr. Raymonde Kleinberg

Department Chair, UNCW Public and International Affairs

Brandon Taylor Panameno

Campaign Field Represenative, NRA-ILA


Sean Palmer

Director, Upperman African American Center, UNCW

Pender County

Dr. Jimmy T. Tate

Committee Co-Chair

President, Mt. Calvary Center for Leadership Development


Mr. Tom Roper

Committee Co-Chair

National Sales Manager, Comcast Communications


Rev. Jonathan Cockrell

Lead Pastor, Renovation Church


Mr. Desmond Jordan

Owner, The House of Gains

Honorable Pete Cowan

Mayor, Town of Burgaw

Mr. Charles Chestnut

Title IX Director, Pender County Schools​

Chief Jim Hock

Burgaw Police Department

Rev. Dante' A Murphy

Branch President, Pender County NAACP

Honorable Jackie Newton

Member, Pender County Board of Commissioners

Dr. Arthur Kornegay, Jr.

Pastor, Pike Creek Missionary Baptist Church

Ms. Ruth Glaser

President, Pender Memorial Hospital

Vice President, Post-Acute Care, New Hanover Regional Medical Center

bottom of page